Integrate Dragon with OmegaT
Thread poster: catopie
catopie
catopie
France
New user
Oct 4

Hello everyone,

I am new to proz and this is the first time I post, so I'm sorry if the question has been asked before.

I am a user of OmegaT and I would like to add a speech recognition tool. I've heard a lot about Dragon.

If you use Dragon with OmegaT, which version do you use and how do you integrate it with OmegaT?
Or: do you use other speech recognition tools, and if so, what can you recommend?

Thanks in advance for your advise and y
... See more
Hello everyone,

I am new to proz and this is the first time I post, so I'm sorry if the question has been asked before.

I am a user of OmegaT and I would like to add a speech recognition tool. I've heard a lot about Dragon.

If you use Dragon with OmegaT, which version do you use and how do you integrate it with OmegaT?
Or: do you use other speech recognition tools, and if so, what can you recommend?

Thanks in advance for your advise and your help.

Best regards
Collapse

Dan Lucas
Dan Lucas  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 10:37
Member (2014)
Japanese to English
Hard to say Oct 5

catopie wrote:

Dragon is expensive and not really being actively developed (version 16 came out recently but seemed to offer little improvement for the very significant upgrade price). It is not clear what plans Microsoft has for it.

On the other hand it is pretty much the only paid option available right now. I have never used OmegaT, so I don't know whether Dragon will work with it in such a way as to utilize all of Dragon's functionality, but I suspect it will not. I assume you will be dictating in English - I'm not sure of Dragon's capabilities in other languages.